CAUGHT YA!!! Look who was Caught Being Good.
It’s Keirsten Whitmire. Each month Rice Elementary
recognizes students who are nominated by a teacher or
staff member who saw them doing a good deed. Great,
Keirsten – keep up the “good” work!
James Schwartz is one of the Boy Scouts of Troop 434
which meets in our Fellowship Hall. He is also the first
member of Troop 434 to be awarded the highest
advancement rank of Eagle Scout in a ceremony on
November 29. James constructed a tree house for
educational purposes at Nescopeck State Park and
installed tree identification signs to teach children about
the variety of trees in the park. James is the son of
Thomas and Leslie (Kline) Schwartz. Congratulations,
Five Cub Scouts of Pack 433, which also meets in our
Fellowship Hall, were presented with a very prestigious
award. Noah Ceklosky, Scott Lenio, Keegan Behrens,
Andrew Murawski and George Albright earned the Dr.
Luis W. Alvarez Supernova Award for advanced study
of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)
related topics. The scouts are required to earn five
academic pins; research famous scientists and learn
about their innovations; speak with a teacher, den leader
and STEM professional about the importance of science
and math in daily life and their careers; design and
execute a scientific experiment and report on it; and
participate in a STEM activity with their Cub Scout Den
or Pack, or a Boy Scout Troop.
The Cub Scout Supernova award is named after Dr. Luis
W. Alvarez, an American experimental physicist,
inventor and professor who was awarded the Nobel
Prize in Physics in 1968. Keep pushing the envelope,

Leave a Reply